Bar & BaT Mitzvahs
The Manor House’s roots run deep on Bainbridge Island.
The land where the home proudly rests was originally homesteaded in 1898 by Mr. and Mrs. Emil Olson. The Olson’s son, Emanuel, and his wife, Edna, lived with Emanuel’s parents for a short period of time after their marriage. However, it wasn’t long before Edna wanted a home of her own, modeled after the Tudor buildings she loved in England. The home was constructed in several stages and when complete, it included a kitchen, dining room, parlor, library and seven bedrooms.
While the home was under construction, Emanuel and Edna constructed several stores across the street to accommodate the growing island community—and Lynwood Center was born. All of the buildings were built in the same Old English style that Edna favored. Soon Lynwood Center was home to a butcher, variety store, hardware store, restaurant, garage, and movie theater.
Both Edna & Emanuel were active in their new community, from working the cash register at local stores to selling tickets at the movie theater (10 cents for kids and 35 cents for adults). Edna was well-known for helping local needy families and Mr. Olson was a hands-on business leader, even delivering groceries to local customers.
Lynwood Center’s rich history and look forward to hosting your most special celebrations and milestones.